Championship League Snooker to conclude with Winners’ Group

The invitation version of Championship League Snooker reaches its climax this week on the Morningside Enviornment in Leicester.

Shaun Murphy emerged with the rating model of the competitors initially of the season however received’t function within the latter phases of this event.

Play within the Winners’ Group will start on Tuesday with the champion to be topped on Wednesday night.

Who’s within the Winners’ Group?

Seven gamers in whole superior from the preliminary group phases and are nonetheless in with a shot of touchdown the highest prize.

Defending champion John Higgins will bid for a file fifth title having emerged efficiently with the trophy in his arms in each of the final two campaigns.

Kyren Wilson and Stuart Bingham characterize two different former champions hoping to reclaim the silverware.

Mark Selby, Neil Robertson, Chris Wakelin, and Joe O’Connor are the opposite contenders for the £10,000 champion’s cheque.

Championship League Snooker

– Winners’ Group –

Chris Wakelin
Neil Robertson
John Higgins
Joe O’Connor
Mark Selby
Stuart Bingham
Kyren Wilson

What are they enjoying for?

Championship League Snooker is likely one of the much less profitable competitions on the calendar, however there’s nonetheless quite a bit to play for.

Along with varied bonuses for frames received and highest breaks compiled, the occasion additionally supplies an avenue to qualify for the extra prestigious Champion of Champions later within the yr.

Capturing a trophy at the moment of the season may additionally act as a springboard to additional success at an vital interval of the calendar.

There are a number of notable tournaments on the horizon, together with the World Open, the Tour Championship, and the game’s blue-riband World Championship in Sheffield.

The remaining contenders shall be hoping to make use of the precious match follow right here and play themselves into kind at an opportune juncture of the 2023/24 season.

What’s the format for the Winners’ Group?

As traditional with any group within the invitational model Championship League Snooker, all matches within the Winners’ Group shall be quick better of fives.

Every participant will face off in opposition to the others in a round-robin format to start with – the highest 4 following the league part then advancing to the semi-finals.

From there, will probably be a straight knockout to find out the general champion of the event.

Championship League Snooker

– Former Champions –

2008: Joe Perry
2009: Judd Trump
2010: Marco Fu
2011: Matthew Stevens
2012: Ding Junhui
2013: Martin Gould
2014: Judd Trump
2015: Stuart Bingham
2016: Judd Trump
2017: John Higgins
2018: John Higgins
2019: Martin Gould
2020 (1): Scott Donaldson
2020 (2): Luca Brecel
2021: Kyren Wilson
2022: John Higgins
2023: John Higgins

The place to stream Championship League Snooker?

Reside protection shall be out there at varied on-line bookmaker websites, with streaming additionally an possibility for Matchroom.Reside subscribers.

Updates for the newest scores and outcomes over the following couple of days may be discovered over on the web site.

Featured photograph credit score: CLSnooker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *