Godolphin’s Zapateo Shocks in The Galaxy 2024 Outcomes at Rosehill

Godolphin mare Zapateo emerged as a shock winner within the ultimate Group 1 race of Golden Slipper Day, the $1 million The Galaxy (1100m) at Rosehill Gardens.

The Galaxy 2024 winner Zapateo

The Galaxy 2024 winner Zapateo. Photograph: Steve Hart.

This yr’s version witnessed a dramatic begin with the returning Coolmore Stud Stakes winner Ozzmosis rearing on the soar and successfully eradicated from competition.

Matthew Dale’s The Kosciuszko winner, Entrance Web page, led the pack initially, with Zapateo, ridden by Kerrin McEvoy, positioned strategically in fourth.

A decent battle emerged within the straight between the chief Entrance Web page and the favorite, Annabel Neasham‘s Sunshine In Paris.

Nonetheless, a late surge from the surface by the underestimated Zapateo shocked everybody.

The five-year-old Brazen Beau mare, a 25/1 outsider, displayed distinctive closing pace to safe her first Group 1 victory.

This win upgrades her efficiency from a runner-up end within the current Randwick Group 2 Problem Stakes.

“It’s big for Zapateo,” stated a delighted coach James Cummings after the race. He praised her expertise and highlighted the significance of this win for her racing profession.

Zapateo edged out Sunshine In Paris by a head, with the front-running Entrance Web page securing third place.

This victory opens up attention-grabbing potentialities for Zapateo.

She might goal the distinguished $3 million TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick on April sixth.

No horse has achieved the The Galaxy – TJ Smith Stakes double since La Baraka (1998).

Ladbrokes presently has Zapateo at $21 all-in odds for the TJ Smith Stakes.

2024 The Galaxy Outcomes

End No. Horse Coach Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Penalty Beginning Worth
1 12 ZAPATEO James Cummings Kerrin McEvoy 8 53kg $26
2 11 SUNSHINE IN PARIS Annabel Neasham Jason Collett 0.14L 2 53.5kg $5.50F
3 14 FRONT PAGE Matthew Dale Tyler Schiller 0.3L 13 52.5kg $13
4 9 ASFOORA Henry Dwyer Tim Clark 0.87L 14 54kg $18
5 4 UNCOMMON JAMES Steven O’Dea & Matthew Hoysted Damian Lane 1.84L 1 55.5kg $9
6 10 PASSIVE AGGRESSIVE Grahame Begg Jordan Childs 2.39L 9 54kg $11
7 8 REMARQUE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 2.4L 5 54.5kg $26
8 16e KING’S GAMBIT Peter & Paul Snowden Ms Jamie Kah 2.61L 4 50kg $12
9 7 KALLOS James Cummings Tom Marquand 3.31L 10 55kg $51
10 6 BUENOS NOCHES Matthew Smith Dylan Gibbons (a) 4.46L 3 55kg $20
11 1 PRIVATE EYE Joseph Satisfaction Nash Rawiller 5.14L 12 58kg $6.50
12 5 AFT CABIN James Cummings James McDonald 7.44L 7 55kg $6
13 17e DERRY GROVE Matthew Dunn Zac Lloyd (a) 7.46L 6 51kg $61
14 13 OZZMOSIS Bjorn Baker Ms Rachel King 14.54L 11 53kg $10
18e QUICK TEMPO Mark Minervini Reece Jones 0
2 KING OF SPARTA Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 0
3 MAZU Joseph Satisfaction Jason Collett 0
15e QUEEN OF THE BALL Michael Freedman Zac Lloyd (a) 0

Desk Credit score: Racing Australia.

This web page and the written content material inside it had been partially generated utilizing AI or automated expertise and edited and verified by our editorial workforce.


Free of charge and confidential assist name 1800 858 858 or go to gamblinghelponline.org.au.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *