Indian Wells 2024 Day 1 Recap: Nadal Makes Late Withdrawal

Solely 9 matches may very well be accomplished on Day 1 on the 2024 BNP Paribas Open as late afternoon rain washed out a lot of the day’s play in tennis paradise.

The massive speaking level outdoors the climate was Rafael Nadal’s late withdrawal. The Spaniard arrived within the States amid big fanfare, and the match organisers rapidly ensured he had a pre-scheduled slot on Thursday night on the Stadium Court docket lengthy earlier than the draw had been made.

Nevertheless, after taking part in on the Netflix Slam Exhibition and giving some teaching classes to the rich in Las Vegas, Nadal concluded he was not match to take to courtroom towards Milos Raonic. Sumit Nagal takes his place as a fortunate loser.

We’ve seen this occur in Australia, the place Nadal is introduced to drive ticket gross sales after which makes a late withdrawal.

Followers are inundated with video footage of his coaching, during which he’s wanting sharp and beating juniors at his academy in Manacor, however on the subject of tour-level play, he’s not prepared.

Quite than all of the performative nonsense about his attendance, I’d a lot want much less coaching footage and for Rafa to make a lower-profile comeback the place he takes a last-minute wild card at an occasion and performs it.

You possibly can see the outcomes from day one under.

Day One 2024 BNP Paribas Open Spherical of 128 Outcomes

indian wells rainindian wells rain
Winner Loser Scoreline
Taro Daniel Daniel Elahi Galan 6-4 6-1
Matteo Arnaldi Luca Van Assche 7-6(6) 7-6(3)
Yannick Hanfmann Pedro Cachin 7-6(7) 6-4 6-1
Thanasi Kokkinakis Marcos Giron 6-3 7-5
Fabian Marozsan Jurij Rodionov (LL) 6-3 6-2
Andy Murray David Goffin (Q) 6-3 6-2
Brandon Nakashima Christopher Eubanks 6-3 7-6(3)
Christopher O’Connell Jack Draper 1-6 6-3 6-2
Alexander Shevchenko Dominik Koepfer 6-3 1-6 7-6(3)

Murray Makes a Stable Begin

murray indian wellsmurray indian wells

Andy Murray has had a woeful begin to 2024, however after saying he won’t play for for much longer previous this summer time, he performed with extra freedom in his Indian Wells opener.

The Brit comfortably dispatched qualifier David Goffin 6-3, 6-2 in his greatest match of the yr, hitting his serve and forehand with extra authority. He’ll face Andrey Rublev in spherical 2, which you’d assume is an excessive amount of of an uphill activity.

Draper Down By O’Connell


Jack Draper made the semi-finals in Acapulco final week, and I assumed he had the proper kind of sport to play nicely in Indian Wells,

Nevertheless, he faltered on the first hurdle, surrendering a one-set result in lose 6-1 3-6 3-6 towards world No. 66 Christopher O’Connell. 

Draper’s heavy sport is a menace to all comers, however he struggles at any time when the sport will get bodily or goes three units. Can he kind that out?

Different Matches of Be aware

  • Kokkinakis beats Giron: A very good win for the Aussie who had an honest run right here in 2015.
  • Nakashima too robust for Eubanks: A little bit of an upset, however Nakashima has been choosing up wins on the Challenger Tour and prefers the slower circumstances.

Indian Wells 2024 Day 2 Spherical of 128 Matches

indian wells aerialindian wells aerial
  • Shintaro Mochizuki (Q) vs Aleksandar Vukic
  • Lorenzo Sonego vs Miomir Kecmanovic
  • Stan Wawrinka vs Tomas Machac
  • Dusan Lajovic vs Emil Ruusuvuori
  • Fixed Lestienne (Q) vs Denis Kudla (Q)
  • Lucas Pouille (Q) vs Daniel Altmaier
  • Roman Safiullin vs Daniel Evans
  • Jakub Mensik (WC) vs Seong-chan Hong (Q)
  • Borna Coric vs Sebastian Ofner
  • Alex Michelsen vs Jaume Munar
  • Thiago Seyboth Wild (Q) vs Jeffrey John Wolf
  • Gael Monfils vs Max Purcell
  • Juncheng Shang (Q) vs Jordan Thompson
  • Arthur Fils vs Nuno Borges
  • Fabio Fognini (WC) vs Bernabe Zapata Miralles
  • Ethan Quinn (Q) vs Patrick Kypson (WC)
  • Pavel Kotov vs Alejandro Tabilo
  • Nicolas Moreno de Alboran (Q) vs Lukas Klein (Q)
  • Hugo Grenier (Q) vs Arthur Muller
  • Flavio Cobolli vs Roberto Carballés Baena
  • Aleksandar Kovacevic (WC) vs Zhizhen Zhang
  • Milos Raonic (PR) vs Sumit Nagal (LL)
  • Botic Van De Zandschulp vs Denis Shapovalov (PR)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *