Jordan Spieth goes viral with 7 phrases of ‘recommendation’ for Hideki Matsuyama

Jordan Spieth, Hideki Matsuyama

Jordan Spieth and Hideki Matsuyama in 2022.

Getty Photos

Some recommendation. Some self-deprecation. With seven phrases typed in on social media, Jordan Spieth didn’t miss. 

In fact, simply two days earlier, he had whiffed, although that simply added to what was to come back. 

Taking part in the Genesis Invitational final week at Riviera Nation Membership in L.A., Spieth had been contending. On Thursday, he opened with a five-under 66. On Friday, in the course of the second spherical, he was even-par for the day till an unsightly double bogey on the 18th gap. However he was performed for the day. 

A short time later, although, he realized he was performed for the event.

Throughout his second spherical, on the 245-yard, par-3 4th, Spieth had hit his tee shot simply left of the inexperienced, hit on to 4 toes and two-putted for a bogey 4. It was about right here the place issues began to unravel. In accordance with CBS announcer Jim Nantz, Spieth’s enjoying accomplice, Tom Kim, had marked Spieth down for a par three, which, whereas not supreme, was OK, however Spieth wanted to appropriate it. 

He didn’t. He signed his scorecard after the spherical. He left the scoring space. 

It compelled a disqualification. Spieth was advised within the gamers locker room, in response to guidelines official Mark Dusbabek, through CBS’ broadcast. Many of the remainder of the world was knowledgeable simply after 5 p.m. native time, via a brief submit from the PGA Tour Communications account. It learn:

“Jordan Spieth has been disqualified from The Genesis Invitational for signing for an incorrect scorecard. Spieth signed for a 3 and made a 4 on No. 4.”

Unlucky? Sure. Is it rule? Is it a nasty rule? After the information broke, people weighed in. Followers. Gamers. On Saturday, Xander Schauffele known as what occurred unlucky. 

“Yeah, it’s a part of the custom of the sport,” he mentioned. “I imply, Jordan, he is aware of, he is aware of what occurred. He was actually sick and he had a tough final gap and I can see the way it all went down. I heard he needed to go form of ask some questions across the — I heard he needed to go to the restroom and got here again like a minute later and the cardboard was fallacious. Possibly there must be some type of softening on the principles, however for essentially the most half, all of us form of know what goes on in there. It’s actually unlucky it occurred.”

On Friday evening, Spieth himself weighed in, via one other social media submit. He wrote:

jordan spieth stares down putt at the genesis invitational in blue shirt

Jordan Spieth DQ’d from Genesis Invitational after scorecard mixup


James Colgan

“At this time, I signed for an incorrect scorecard and stepped out of the scoring space, after considering I went via all procedures to verify it was appropriate. Guidelines are guidelines, and I take full accountability. I like this event and golf course as a lot as any on @PGATOUR so it hurts to not have a run on the weekend. Actually appreciated the assist in LA @thegenesisinv @thegenesisinv”

From there, the event performed on. Patrick Cantlay led after 54 holes. Within the last spherical, Hideki Matsuyama went berserk, taking pictures a nine-birdie, no-bogey 62 to win by three photographs. He missed the Riviera course document by a shot, but it surely was about the one factor he missed. 

From someplace, Spieth watched. Or heard what occurred. That doesn’t matter a lot. 

This does. 

He logged on to the web. He went to (or Notably, Spieth, or his handlers, aren’t on social media a lot. However Sunday, at 2:50 p.m. native time, he did. First, he supplied three phrases of congratulations. 

“Nice enjoying, Hideki!” ‘Spieth wrote.  

That was adopted by this:

“Simply be sure to double verify that scorecard.”

Effectively performed. As of early Monday afternoon, the submit had been seen a whopping 1.8 million instances, appreciated 22,000 instances, shared 990 instances and commented on 263 instances. 

And sure, so far as we will inform, Matsuyama signed his scorecard accurately.  

Nick Piastowski

Nick Piastowski Editor

Nick Piastowski is a Senior Editor at and Golf Journal. In his function, he’s accountable for modifying, writing and creating tales throughout the golf house. And when he’s not writing about methods to hit the golf ball farther and straighter, the Milwaukee native might be enjoying the sport, hitting the ball left, proper and quick, and consuming a chilly beer to scrub away his rating. You possibly can attain out to him about any of those subjects — his tales, his recreation or his beers — at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *